Executive Committee

Oxbridge Malaysia - Society Information

The members of the Executive Committee of the Oxford & Cambridge Society Malaysia for 2014 - 2015 are given below:


Mark Joseph Disney (Oxon) - President of the Oxbridge Society of Malaysia

Mark graduated in 1985 from St. Edmund Hall in English Language and Literature and began teaching in London before moving to Malaysia in 1992. He taught in an international school and worked as a senior lecturer in a private university college, teaching Literature, Language, History and Religion. He is the founder of two Malaysian higher education magazines and is a regular features writer for 'Off the Edge'. Mark is currently the COO of LCCI International Qualifications covering 24 countries across Asia.

Emma Davidson (Oxon) - Vice-President for Oxford

Emma read PPE at Corpus Christi and has lived in Malaysia since 1997 with her Malaysian husband and their children. She is an Associate Member of the Chartered Insurance Institute and the Institute of Risk Management. However, Emma finds teaching much more fulfilling and holds the Cambridge Certificate in English Language Teaching for Adults (CELTA) and the Cambridge Distance Diploma (DELTA). She now teaches English at the British Council in KL and, in her free time, fundraises for charities and enjoys reading, swimming and rowing.
Vice-President, Oxford

Elizabeth Lee Fuh Yen (Cantab) - Vice-President for Cambridge

Vice-President Cantab
Elizabeth is a stalwart of the Society and has served over many years and in many capacities, including as President for 3 consecutive terms (2004 - 2007). She runs Sunway University College and the Sunway Group of Colleges as Executive Director. At Cambridge (Wolfson, 1984-1985, M.Phil., Education), Elizabeth was closely engaged in the admission of young Malaysians to the University and in welcoming official Cambridge visitors to Malaysia. She is the Regional Co-ordinator of the Cambridge Society, but still remains equally engaged with Oxford.

Dr. Ian Halsall (Cantab) - Honorary Secretary

Ian joined the Executive Committee in July 2011. He was educated at Aston University (BSc, Chemical Engineering) and was subsequently a student engineer at Shell before proceeding to Selwyn College, Cambridge where he was awarded a PhD - also in Chemical Engineering. Ian subsequently obtained his MBA from Warwick University. Dr. Halsall is a former R&D Manager for Procter & Gamble and Commercial Manager for DuPont.
He is a widely published author and has over 20 years experience in running his own companies in the areas of engineering, marketing and NLP training.
Honorary Secretary

Simon Marshall (Oxon) - Honorary Treasurer

Honorary Treasurer
Simon is a history graduate from Keble where he played rugby, hockey and cricket as well as rowing for the college. After a career travelling the world and living in Italy, Germany, Japan, the US, Hong Kong and Swaziland (!) on behalf of the international brewing industry, he returned to England and founded an ICT business. When he is not busy looking after the Society's coffers, he runs an investment company which focuses on inward investment to Malaysia. He is a Yorkshireman and is the only known surviving supporter of Leeds United Football Club in Asia.

Patrick Helson (Cantab) - Executive Committee Member

Patrick Helson is a Director of Swordbridge Sdn. Bhd. Patrick was formerly with Actis LLP, the emerging markets’ private equity investor.
He holds Masters Degrees in Law (Cambridge University) and Economics (London University). He is also a Chartered Accountant (Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales.
Executive Committee Member

Darina Yusof (Oxon) - Executive Committee Member

Executive Committee Member
Having captained the winning Oxford alumni rowing crew (Malaysia) for the last 2 years, Darina Yusof joined the Oxford & Cambridge Society Malaysia as a an EXCO member in 2008. She matriculated at Oxford University (Somerville College) in 1987 and graduated with a BA (Hons) in Philosophy, Politics & Economics (PPE). Darina (CFA) is currently a Commercial Banking Director with HSBC Bank Malaysia Berhad.

Margaret Hall (Oxon) - Executive Committee Member

Margaret graduated from St. Anne’s in 1972 with a degree in Geology and is the immediate past-President of the Society. She worked in the oil industry in London and lived in Denmark for a year before moving to work in the oil industry in KL in 1983. She has been a member of the Society since the 1980s and a committee member for many years. Margaret's main contributions have been in the area of education: an English Language programme for FELDA primary school teachers in 1996 and the annual Oxbridge English Language Event since its inception in 2003.
Committee Member

John Teng Yong Shen (Cantab) Executive Committee Member

John Teng Yong Shen is a graduate in Land Economy from Wolfson College (Cambridge). He admits to having built the CUMaS website, made a 7-foot snowman, attended about two dozen formal dinners in 21 colleges and to having been been sozzled once after some fairly disproportionate pennying. Now a property consultant with WTW International, he says he is curious to see what possibilities 'big data management might bring to real estate market research'. John was the chairperson for the Oxbridge students’ debate in 2009 and also in 2013 and is (he writes) a "newbie" to the society.
Executive Committee Member

Dr. Chua Hui Yen (Cantab) - Executive Committee Member

Exco Member
Yen completed her PhD in Geotechnical Engineering from Cambridge, where she was a member of Churchill College. She is currently running several businesses, one of which is a chain of health spas. In her free time Yen enjoys reading, dancing and travelling. She looks forward to organising some 'fresh events' at the Oxbridge society and hopes to meet lots of interesting people then.



To contact the Committee This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .